ORCHESTRA - Thracian Echoes (2002) 

Duration - 21:00

piccolo, 2 fultes (2nd piccolo); 2 english horns, 3 clarinets (Eb,A); 2 contrabassoon; 4 horns, 3 trumpets, 3 trombones, tuba; timpani, 2 percussion, piano/celesta; strings 

A world premiere work [Thracian Echoes] destined to lead a long, illustrious life. [Bermel] has lived in these Bulgarian rhythms and melodies, woven them far into the complex texture of his composition. Bermel’s sophisticated orchestration and meticulous part-writing made every stage direction and sound effect a vital part of this highly evocative, but never-once-incidental work. He created a powerful work of art that speaks a language all its own and is built-to last.
— The Journal News (NY)

Read Derek Bermel's blog about this piece HERE

Click Here for Program Notes

Buy/Rent this score from Publisher:

 << Back to Music